5. GEDC 2015 Election Results Announced

For the 2015 elections, the GEDC had thirteen candidates to serve on the GEDC Executive Committee, with seven positions to fill--six for a three-year term and one for a one-year term. There were two candidates to serve for one year as Secretary/Treasurer (2015-2016).


The results are as follows:  

GEDC Secretary/Treasurer Elect (2015-2016)


Wayne Davis
University of Tennessee Knoxville
United States

GEDC Executive Committee (2015-2018)



Margaret (Kathy) Banks
Texas A&M University
United States

Sirin Tekinay
Işik University



Kunwoo Lee
Seoul National University
South Korea

Kee Chaing Chua
National University of Singapore



Natacha DePaola
Illinois Institute of Technology
United States

Mushtak Al-Atabi
Taylor’s University



Henry Alinaitwe
Makerere University

Serving from 2015-2016


Sarah Rajala served as the chair of the GEDC Election Nominating Committee together with Paul Feigin, Tuncay Dogeroglu, Robert (Bob) Bishop, and Ishwar Puri. Hans J Hoyer served in an ex-officio capacity.

We thank the other outstanding candidates who participated in this year's election and certainly encourage them to run again in the future years.


Finally, our considerable appreciation goes to the colleagues who will finish their terms of office at the GEDC 2015 Adelaide Conference:


Secretary/Treasurer, Laura Steinberg

Executive Committee members:

Alaa Ashmawy (2015)

Jaime Bonilla (2015)

Jose Roberto Cardoso (2015)

Bogeng Li (2015)

CP Wong (2015)