Richard T. Schoephoerster

Richard T. Schoephoerster
American University of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Dean, College of Engineering

Dr. Richard Schoephoerster was appointed the Dean of the College of Engineering (CEN) in Fall 2016. He joined AUS from the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP), where he served as Dean of the College of Engineering.


He joined Florida International University (FIU) in 1990, rising in the ranks from Research Associate to Assistant Professor (1992), Associate Professor (1996), and Full Professor (2001) over his seventeen years at the institution. The FIU Department of Biomedical Engineering was established in 2003 with Dr. Schoephoerster as the Founding Chair. In 2005 he was named the Wallace H. Coulter Eminent Scholars Chair in Biomedical Engineering at FIU. In 2011 Dr. Schoephoerster was the inaugural recipient of the Riter Endowed Professorship in Engineering at UTEP.

Dr. Schoephoerster led the efforts to establish the BS, MS, and PhD programs in biomedical engineering at FIU. While at UTEP new programs were established in systems engineering (MS), construction management (MS), biomedical engineering (MS and PhD), software engineering (MS), engineering leadership (BS), construction engineering and management (BS), and mechanical engineering (PhD).

Dr. Schoephoerster has also been highly successful in securing private support for initiatives he has led. While at FIU he secured grants from The Whitaker Foundation and The Coulter Foundation to establish the biomedical engineering programs and department. At UTEP, the College of Engineering received a gift to establish the Mike Loya Center for Innovation and Commerce in cooperation with the College of Business Administration, and another gift to establish the Bob and Diane Malone – Halliburton Engineering Leadership Program, and another one to establish the Freeport-McMoRan Distinguished Chair in Metallurgical Engineering.


During his tenure as a faculty member, Dr. Schoephoerster ran an active research program in the area of biofluid mechanics and cardiovascular devices with a major focus on cardiac applications. He has also served on a variety of committees and boards for the American Heart Association, including serving as Inaugural Chair of the National Bioengineering and Biotechnology Research Peer Review Committee. He is a Fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering, and the American Heart Association.