Sarah Rajala Wins a National Engineering Award

The American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES) recognized  GEDC Leader Sarah Rajala as the national engineer of the year at an award ceremony on April 18th in Washington, D.C. 

The award recognized Rajala for (1) her inspirational leadership at the institutional, national and international levels; (2) innovations in engineering education and assessment and (3) her tireless efforts to promote diversity in the engineering field.

Rajala is Dean of the College of Engineering at Iowa State University and served as GEDC Chair from 2011 until 2013. She has become the latest member of a prestigious group of engineers who have been recognized as AAES national engineer of the year since it was first awarded to Neil Armstrong in 1979.

For more details about this award and Sarah Rajala, visit the Iowa State University website.